A Vanished Friend!

 

 

Around the corner I have a friend,

In this great city that has no end,

Yet the days go by and weeks rush on,

And before I know it, a year is gone.

And I never see my old friends face,

For life is swift and terrible race,

He knows I like him just as well,

As in the days when I rang his bell.

And he rang mine but we were younger then,

And now we are busy, tired men,.

Tired of playing a foolish game,

Tired of trying to make a name.

“Tomorrow” I say! “I will call on him”

Just to show that I am thinking of him

But tomorrow comes and tomorrow goes,

And distance between us grows and grows.

Around the corner, yet miles away

“Here’s a telegram sir,” …….,” “he died today.”

 

And that’s what we get and deserve in the end;

Around the corner…… a vanished friend!

(Charles Hanson Towne)

 

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Vanished Friend!

  1. jiimiona says:

    your blog is getting better )

  2. Pingback: Recent URLs tagged Woman - Urlrecorder

  3. tikuli says:

    hi i TOO LOVE POETRY AND THS IS lovely ..do read me at
    tikulicious.wordpress.com
    adding you to my blog network ,blogroll etc .

Leave a Reply

